Product categories

Demonology: An Occult Exploration of Demons & Their Hierarchies


Demonology is a fascinating and enigmatic field within the occult sciences that delves into the study of demons, their origins, characteristics, and hierarchies. From the perspective of the occult, demons are often seen as powerful and malevolent entities, each with its own unique attributes and purposes. This article seeks to provide an insight into the classification of demons and their hierarchical structures, shedding light on their roles in the supernatural realm.

Classifying Demons

In the occult world of demonology, the classification of demons can be a complex and subjective matter. Different occult traditions and belief systems may categorize demons differently, but there are some common themes that tend to emerge. One common approach is to categorize demons based on their attributes, powers, and spheres of influence. Here are some common categories used to classify demons:

  1. Infernal Hierarchy: The infernal hierarchy is a classification system that places demons in a structured order, often drawing inspiration from religious texts, folklore, and grimoires. These hierarchies can include categories like the Princes of Hell, Dukes, Marquises, and Presidents.
  2. Elemental Affiliation: Some occult systems classify demons based on their association with the classical elements: earth, water, fire, and air. For example, earth demons may be connected to the material world and physical manifestations, while water demons are linked to emotions and the subconscious.
  3. Seven Deadly Sins: Another classification system connects demons to the seven deadly sins—pride, envy, wrath, sloth, greed, lust, and gluttony. Each demon is associated with a specific sin, and their attributes reflect the vices they embody.
  4. Planetary Correspondence: Astrological associations are also used in the classification of demons. Each demon is linked to a particular planet, and their powers and influences are aligned with the energies of that celestial body.

Demonology: The Hierarchies

Demon hierarchies are a common feature in occult literature and play a significant role in the classification of demons. These hierarchies often establish a pecking order among demons, with powerful demons at the top and lesser ones further down. Here’s a simplified hierarchy of demons inspired by various occult traditions:

  1. Princes of Hell: These are some of the most powerful demons and are often associated with the seven deadly sins. Lucifer (Pride), Mammon (Greed), Asmodeus (Lust), Satan (Wrath), Beelzebub (Gluttony), Leviathan (Envy), and Belphegor (Sloth) are considered the seven Princes of Hell.
  2. Kings and Dukes: Below the Princes are Kings and Dukes, who have considerable influence over specific aspects of human existence. These demons may govern regions, elements, or other supernatural domains. Examples include Paimon, Bael, and Agares.
  3. Marquises and Earls: These demons often serve under Kings and Dukes and have their own areas of expertise and influence. Examples include Ronove and Andras.
  4. Presidents and Princes: Presidents and Princes are lesser than the Marquises and Earls but still hold considerable power. They may be associated with specific human activities or natural phenomena. For instance, Purson and Stolas are Presidents in this hierarchy.
  5. Knights, Counts, and Other Officers: These lower-ranking demons have specialized roles and may serve in various capacities within the demonic hierarchy.

List of Demons

Here’s a list of some well-known demons along with their roles and associations within the occult:

  1. Lucifer: The most famous demon, often associated with pride and the “light-bringer.”
  2. Beelzebub: The “Lord of the Flies,” associated with gluttony.
  3. Asmodeus: The demon of lust and desire.
  4. Belphegor: The demon of sloth and idleness.
  5. Leviathan: A sea monster associated with envy.
  6. Mammon: The demon of greed and wealth.
  7. Satan: The embodiment of wrath and adversary to humankind.
  8. Paimon: A King of Hell associated with wealth and knowledge.
  9. Astaroth: A Duke of Hell linked to divination and secrets.
  10. Bael: A King who governs over the East and is associated with leadership and military strategy.

Books Relating To Demonology

Demonology is a complex and intricate field of study that offers insight into the classification and hierarchies of demons. The demons themselves are often depicted as powerful beings with distinct attributes and roles, and their classification can vary among different occult traditions. While these hierarchies and demon lists are not universally accepted, they remain a significant part of the occult’s rich and mysterious tapestry, inviting those who dare to explore the enigmatic realms of the supernatural.

More to explore…

Books On Divination

Embark on a captivating exploration of the mystic arts with Miskatonic Books’ Divination category—a curated collection that unravels the secrets of foreseeing

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop